DEG Metro Stars

Sport Hockey
Country Germany Germany
Home town Düsseldorf
Founding year 1935

The Dusseldorfer Eislauf-Gemeinschaft (DEG) Metro Stars is a professional ice hockey team that is currently a part of the Deustchen Eishockey Liga or the German Ice Hockey League. The team was started in 1935, but back then it was known as the Dusseldorfer EG. However, in 2001, the team was renamed to DEG Metro Stars. The team has been a part of the professional playing division since 1997, which was the time the DEG Eishockey GmbH was formed.

The team’s roots stem from the time its sports patron Ernst Poensgen founded the group. A few months afterwards, the team was already among the top teams playing the ice rink that was also created by Poensgen.

Currently, the team is being managed by Lance Nethery and coached by Jeff Tomlinson. The captain of the team is Daniel Kreutzer.

So far, the team has topped the German Masters in 1967, 1972, 1975, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, and 1996. They were also the German Cup winner in 2006.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Maree Cartujano
  • Share this page:

Team Roster

Name Position
Jason Holland
Derek Dinger
Simon Danner
Marco Nowak
Etienne Renkewitz
Adam Courchaine
Mathias Niederberger
Patrick Reimer
Jean Sebastian Aubin
Andrew Hedlund

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post