Lokomotiv Yaroslavl

Sport Hockey
Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
Home town Yaroslavl
Founding year 1949
Leagues Kontinental Hockey League

Lokomotiv Yaroslavl is professional ice hockey team based in Yaroslavl, Russia. As of 2009, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl is a part of the Kharlamov division of the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). Team colors are blue and red. Their team logo depicts a stylized train. They have won the Russian Championships three times and have changed their name 7 times before settling with Lokomotiv Yaroslavl.

Founded in 1949, the team was initially known by their current name ‘Lokomotiv Yaroslavl’. In 1955, they changed their name to Spartak Yaroslavl. They changed their name again in 1956, this time calling themselves Khimik Yaroslavl. Two years later, in 1959, the team renamed themselves once more and was called HC YMZ. In 1963, they were called Trud Yaroslavl and Motor Yaroslavl in 1964. In 1965, they changed their name yet again to Torpedo Yaroslavl. In the year 2000, the team adopted their first name once again and has been named Lokomotiv Yaroslavl since the 2000 to 2001 season.

The team did not excel very during the time of the Soviet Union. It, however, started to excel in the late 1990s and during the early part of the 21st century. The team won its first Russian Championship in 1997. It won the championship again in 2002 and again in 2003. The team’s success was sometimes attributed to the effort of coach Vladimir Vujtek Sr. The coach left the team in 2003 and Lokomotiv Yaroslavl has not been able to replicate their success under his guidance.

Lokomotiv Yaroslavl signed former NHL player Alexei Yashin in 2007.

As of 2009, Arena 2000, located in Yaroslavl serves as home ice for the team. It is said to have the capacity to seat 9,000 people. Prior to Arena 2000, the Avtozidel Arena served as home ice for the team.

A plane crash on September 7, 2011 is feared to have killed most of the current team.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by mr Sporter
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Czech Republic Olympic Roster

Tiny hockey

The addition of professional players to the Olympic Games in 1998 has certainly been favorable for the Czechs, as they won gold in ’98 and a bronze in 2006. With a roster stacked with noted NHL and European scorers, the Czechs will be looking to repeat their previous success come February.GoaliesOndrej Pavelec: Pavelec has been hot and cold for the ... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Daniil Sobchenko centre
Nikita Klyukin centre
Aleksei Vasiliev defence
Jori Lehtera centre
Artem Yarchuk left wing
Alexandr Galimov right wing
Marat Kalimulin defence
Konstantin Rudenko left wing
Sergei Zhukov defence
Andrei Kiryukhin right wing

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Posts Last Post By