Ak Bars Kazan

Sport Hockey
Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
Home town Kazan, Tatarstan
Founding year 1956
Leagues Kontinental Hockey League
Website www.AK-Bars.re

Ak Bars Kazan is professional ice hockey team based in Kazan of Tatarstan, which is a federal subject of the Russian Federation. They have been nicknamed the ‘Leopards’. As of 2009, the ice hockey team is a member of the Chernyshev division of the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL). They are one of the first 24 teams to make up the KHL. Team colors for Ak Bars Kazan are Red, Green and White. Their team logo depicts a stylized snow leopard.

The ice hockey club was founded in 1956. Several years after its founding, the team was known as the Mashstroy Kazan. In 1958, they changed their name to SC Uritskogo and to Itil Kazan in 1990 before setting with their current name in 1995. The Tatneft Arena, with a capacity to seat 10,000 spectators serves as home ice for Ak Bars Kazan.

Prior to joining the KHL, the Ak Bars Kazan, was a member of the Russia Superleague from 1999 to 2008. They were also members of the Russian Hockey League, and the International Hockey League. In its early career, Ak Bars Kazan, was ranked as a Soviet Class B team. In 1959, they were elevated to Class A2. They were also a constant participant of the USSR Championships.

The team has won several championships throughout its history. They are also noted for having won the KHL Championships in 2009. Other wins for Ak Bars Kazan include the Soviet League in 1962 and 1976, the Russian Superleague in 1998 and 2006, and the Continental Cup in 2008.

The team made news during the 2004-2005 season when they signed a total of 11 NHL players. These players included Russians Ilya Kovalchuk and Alexei Kovalev. The team also signed Canadians Danny Heatley and Vincent Lacavalier. That season, the team finished 4th place loosing the bronze to Lokomotiv Yaroslavl. As of the 2009-2010 season, most of the Ak Bars Kazan players are from Russia, with a few imports from Sweden and Finland.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Maree Cartujano
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Russian Olympic Roster

Tiny hockey

With a lethally high-powered offense, veteran puck movers on the blueline and world class keepers in net, the Russians will be looking to win their first gold medal in the pro player era, and also their first Olympic championship since 1992.GoaliesEvgeni Nabokov: Probably the frontrunner for the starting job, Nabokov will have to be on top of his ga... Continue reading

Finland's Olympic Roster

Tiny hockey

In 2006, the Finns shocked the world with their impressive play and tied the country’s all time best finish with a silver medal. Antero Niittymaki was named tournament MVP after allowing only 8 goals throughout the tournament in the absence of an injured Miikka Kiprusoff. Many of the same faces will be present for Finland at the 2010 Games in Vancou... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Evgeny Bodrov centre
Janne Pesonen left wing
Vyacheslav Buravchikov defence
Stepan Zakharchuk defence
Dmitri Kazionov centre
Alexei Tereschenko centre
Ilya Nikulin defence
Nikita Alekseev right wing
Dmitri Obukhov right wing
Petri Vehanen goaltender

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Posts Last Post By