The Western & Southern Open is the current branding of the Cincinnati Masters. It is a professional tennis tournament that is held in Mason, Ohio. Also known as the W&S Open Cincinnati, it is an ATP Masters 1000 event and a WTA 1000 event.

The Western & Southern Open is noted for being the oldest tennis tournament in the United States that is still played in its original host city.


Founded in 1899, it is one of the oldest tournaments in the country. And next to the US Open, it is the second-largest tennis event in the United States.

In 1901, it was renamed the Tri-State Tennis Tournament. Throughout its history, it has been renamed several times. It became a part of the Grand Prix of Tennis Tour in the 1980s.

Venue and Courts

The inaugural event was held at what is now Xavier University. Since its founding, the event has been played mostly on clay surfaces. Its current events, however, are played on a hard court.

As of 2021, the tournament is hosted at the Linder Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio. The center has 17 courts with four tennis stadiums. This makes the Cincinnati Masters the only tournament outside of the Grand Slam events that have four stadiums.

The stadiums at the Linder Family Tennis Center are the Grandstand Court, Center Court, Court 9, and Court 3.

Notable Players

The Cincinnati Masters has seen a number of tennis greats. Some of its most notable title holders include Beals Wright, Robert LeRoy, Bobby Riggs, Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, Roger Federer, Andy Murray, and Novak Djokovic.

Notable title holders for the women’s championships include Ruth Sanders, Lindsay Davenport, Maria Sharapova, Serena Williams, Karolina Pliskova, and more.


Roger Federer holds the record for having won the most titles at 7. He also has the title for the most finals at 8. Other records held by Federer at the Cincinnati Masters include the most matches played, most matches won, and the most editions played.

The youngest ever champion at the tournament was Boris Becker who won at 17 years old and 8 months. The oldest champion was Ken Rosewall who won at 35 years and 8 months.