Club Atletico Boca Juniors is a sports club that is situated in the La Boca neighbourhood of Buenos Aires, the capital city of Argentina.

The club are involved in quite a few sports and activities but they are best known for their football team which have always competed in the Argentine top-division after being promoted in 1913.

Country Argentina Argentina
City La Boca
Founded 1905

They are currently managed by Guillermo Barros Schelotto and Daniel Angelici is the chairman of the club. They play their home matches at the Estadio Alberto J. Armando which is also known as the La Bombonera stadium at La Boca in Buenos Aires. Their home stadium has a capacity of 49,000 spectators.

Boca had played in a variety of venues before the La Bombonera was built in 1938. The stadium was constructed under the supervision of Jose L. Delpini. The stadium was completed in 1940 and a further third level was added in 1953. Further development happened in 1996 when the stand opposite the railway platforms were developed vertically with seating areas and VIP boxes.

Boca Juniors are the most successful football club in Argentina with 65 title wins till date. They have won the Primera Division championships in Argentina 31 times while winning the domestic cup on 12 occasions. The side were also awarded an honorary title for their successful tour of Europe in 1925. The title was awarded to them by the Argentine Football Association.

The side have also won 22 international honours, 18 of which are recognized by FIFA and CONMEBOL. Only Real Madrid, AC Milan, Barcelona and Egyptian side Al Ahly have won more international titles compared to Boca Juniors.

They are also one of the eight teams who have won the treble in the CONMEBOL region. The side were incredibly successful during the tenure of Carlos Bianchi and were named as the top South American club in the first decade since the turn of the millennium.

Boca are also one of the most popular football clubs in South America. In Argentina, Boca and River Plate are the two most famous clubs who are involved in a turf war every season. Both clubs hail from the same region of La Boca and matches between the two sides are called the Superclasico. While Boca Juniors is traditionally regarded as a club for the working class people of Argentina, River Plate has a more upper-class fan base.

The team also boast a famed youth academy that has produced quite a few Argentine internationals in the past. Carlos Tevez, Ever Banega, Nicolas Burdisso, Fernando Gago and Sebastian Battaglia are some of the players who have gone on to play successfully for top European clubs after spending their youth in the Boca academy.

With 236 goals in two spells between 1997-2001 and 2004-2011, Martin Palermo is the club’s leading all-time scorer. The second man on that list is Francisco Varallo, who scored 194 goals for the club between 1931 and 1939.

Roberto Mouzo has the distinction of featuring for the team the most number of times with 426 appearances between 1971 and 1984. In modern times, Juan Roman Riquelme has been the most loyal servant for the club with 388 first team appearances between 1992-2002 and 2007-2014. During his two spells at the club, the Argentina international scored 92 goals for Boca Juniors.


Boca Juniors have been showered with titles since their inception. They won 6 league championships in the Amateur era and since turning professional, have added another 22 to their tally. Their tally of 17 international titles makes them second only to AC Milan’s 18, the team that beat Boca Juniors in the 2007 Club World Cup.

These 17 titles include a massive 6 Copa Libertadores titles, three Club World Cup titles, one Copa Oro title and one Supercopa Masters championship. Boca Juniors’ trophy cabinet also houses 2 Copa SudAmericanas and 3 Recopa SudAmericanas.

The club has always had great players playing for it in every team and some of those greats were/are:

• Roberto Cerro• Alfredo Rojas• Julio Melendez• Diego Armando Maradona• Carlos Daniel Tapia• Gabriel Batistuta• Kily Gonzalez• Nelson Vivas• Juan Roman Riquelme• Claudio Caniggia• Juan Sebastian Veron• Marcelo Delgado• Carlos Tevez