Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club, commonly known simpley as Wolves, is an English football club based in Wolverhampton in the West Midlands. They currently feature in the English Premier League and are the tenth most successful club in English football history, having won the League thrice and the FA Cup four times.


Wolves were founded in 1877 as St. Luke’s by John Baynton and John Brodie. Two years fast forward and the club merged with the local cricket and football club The Wanderers to form Wolverhampton Wanderers. Wolves were one of the 12 founding members of the Football League in 1888.

Wolves won the FA Cup for the first time in their history in 1893 but were relegated from the first division in 1906. In 1908 however Wolves won the FA Cup again, this time as a second division team. In 1923 though Wolves suffered the ignominy of being relegated to the Third Division North.

Wolves began to decline from the 1960s and at the end of the 1964-1965 season were relegated from the first division. However it was not long before Wolves reclaimed promotion to the top flight.

Country England England
City Wolverhampton
Founded 1877
Ground Molineux Stadium
Nickname Wolves
Captain Rúben Diogo Da Silva Neves
Coach Julen Lopetegui
Website wolves.co.uk

In 1932 Wolves gained promotion back into the first division in 1932. They soon established themselves as one of the best teams in England and finished runners-up in the league championship title race in 1938 and 1939 and lost the FA Cup final to Portsmouth in 1939. Wolves won the FA Cup in 1948 and in the 1950s the club ventured onto their most successful period in history under manager Stan Cullis. Wolves won the league championship for the first time in their history in 1954 and repeated their success in 1958 and 1959 and in 1960 became the first team to pass the 100 goal mark for three seasons in succession. That year they won the FA Cup.

After winning a few League Cups, Wolves declined sharply and since 1984 have spent just one season in the English top flight. That was in the English Premier League in the 2003-2004 season but they were relegated at the end of that campaign. Wolves have since returned to the top flight, enjoying a fruitful period under Nuno Espirito Santo including European qualification.

Wolverhampton Wanderers play their home matches at the Molineux Stadium, which can host a crowd of 28,525. They bear the nicknames Wolves and The Wanderers.


  • First Division/Premier League Champions (3): 1953–54, 1957–58, 1958–59
  • Championship/Second Division Champions (4): 1931–32, 1976–77, 2008–09, 2017–18
  • League One/Third Division Champions (3): 1923–24 (North), 1988–89, 2013–14
  • Fourth Division Champions (1): 1987–88
  • FA Cup Winners (4): 1892–93, 1907–08, 1948–49, 1959–60
  • Football League Cup Winners (2): 1973–74, 1979–80
  • FA Charity Shield Winners (4): 1949, 1954, 1959, 1960* (* shared)
  • Football League Trophy Winners (1): 1987–88