Country Cyprus Cyprus
City Nicosía (Levkosía)
Founded 1926
Website apoelfc.com.cy
Cypriot First Division
UEFA Champions League

APOEL F.C. is a Cypriot club based in Lefkosia. They currently feature in the Cypriot First Division and are the most successful clubs of Cyprus, having won the league 19 times, the Cypriot Cup 19 times and the Super Cup 10 times.

APOEL FC were established as PEL on November 8,1926 and adopted the name APOEL in 1928. Along with AEL Limassol, they hatched the plan to establish a country-wide governing body and a nationwide league. The Cyprus Football Assocation was then founded and two years later APOEL won their first league. They won the league four times in a row after that. But politically things went awry and Omonia were founded in 1948.

APOEL soon recovered and became the first club from Cyprus to feature in any European competition when they played in the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1963. They carried on strongly on the domestic front too, accomplishing the Double in 1973. The next year they were the only Cypriot side to sustain their place in the pan-Hellenic Greek Championship. APOEL won the champonship in 1980 and 1986 and also the Cup in 1984. They won the championships again in 1990,1992 and 1996 and the Cup in five occasions.

APOEL play their home matches at the NEO GSP Stadium that can accommodate 22,859 spectators. They bear the nickname “Legend”.

Team Roster

Name Position
Rafael Anastasiou Cyprus defender
Claudiano Bezerra da Silva Germany defender
Andreas Drakos Christofidis Cyprus defender
Andreas Assiotis Cyprus forward
Vid Belec Slovenia goalkeeper
Carlos Alberto Brazil midfielder
Efstathios Aloneftis Cyprus midfielder
Konstantinos Charalambidis Cyprus midfielder
Demetris Charalambous Cyprus midfielder
Tomás Sebastián De Vincenti Argentina midfielder

Bet Play-Money for Fun

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post