Eintracht Frankfurt is German sports club based in the city of Frankfurt. Their football wing features in the German Bundesliga.


In 1899 Frankfurter Futball-Club Viktoria vin 1899 was formed along with Frankfurter Futball-Club Kickers. These two clubs merged with each other in May 1911 to become Frankfurter FV (Kickers-Viktoria). This club then joined hands with the gymnastics club Frankfurter Tumgemeinde 1861 to form TuS Eintracht Frankfurt 1861 in 1920.

Eintracht Frankfurt were one of the founding members of the German Bundesliga in 1963 and played in the top flight for 33 seasons but could not win the title although they finished just a couple of points behind VFB Stuttgart in the 1991-1992 season.

Eintracht Frankfurt were relegated from the German Bundesliga at the end of the 1995-1996 season but bounced back soon. Since 1997 they have been a yo-yo club, moving to and fro of the German first division.

Eintracht Frankfurt won the German Cup in 1974, 1975, 1981 and 1988 and the UEFA Cup in 1980. Eintracht won the Europa League in 2021 on penalties against Rangers.

Country Germany Germany
City Frankfurt am Main
Founded 1899
Ground Deutsche Bank Park
Nickname Die Adler
Captain Sebastian Rode
Coach Oliver Glasner
Website eintracht.de

The club won several regional and local championships and trophies in the 1920s and won the first division Oberliga Sud in 1953 and 1959. In 1959 the Eintracht also wins the German Championship against the Offenbacher Kickers. In the 1960 European Cup final, they lost 7-3 to Real Madrid in what is still believed to be the best ever football match in European club football.

Eintracht Frankfurt play their home matches at the Deutsche Bank Park which can entertain a crowd of 51,500. The club bears the nicknames Die Adler (Eagles), SGE (Sportsgemeinde Eintracht) and Launsische Diva (moody diva).

The main rivals are Offenbacher Kickers and Mainz 05.


  • German Championship/Bundesliga Champions (1): 1959
  • DFB-Pokal Winners (5): Eintracht Frankfurt
  • 2.Bundesliga Winners (1): 1997-98
  • UEFA Cup/Europa League Winners (2): 1979-80, 2021-22