BV Borussia Dortmund is a German football club based in Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia. They currently compete in the German Bundesliga.


Borussia Dortmund were established on December 9,1909. They initially played in the local leagues and got almost bankrupt in 1929. In the 1930s they struggled politically but did achieve success in the newly established Gauliga. It was around this time that they developed a strong rivalry with FC Schalke 04.

Borussia Dortmund won their first national title in 1856 and successfully defended it in 1956. They were one of the first 16 teams to feature in the inaugural season of the German Bundesliga in the 1963-1964 season. In 1965 they won their first German Cup and the following year they won the European Cup Winners’ Cup.In the 1970s they suffered financially and even got relegated from the Bundesliga.

Borussia Dortmund became the first, and so far the only, publicly traded club on the German stock market. Two years fast forward, in the season 2001-02, they won the their third German Bundesliga title. Subsequently, they then went into a period of decline and are recovering.

Country Germany Germany
City Dortmund
Founded 1909
Ground Signal Iduna Park
Nickname Die Schwarzgelben
Captain Marco Reus
Coach Edin Terzic

But they recovered in the late 1980s and won the German Cup in 1989. In the 1990s Borussia Dortmund went from strength to strength. They reached the final of the UEFA Cup in 1993 and won the Bundesliga in 1995 and 1996. In 1997 they won the UEFA Champions League by beating Italian and European powerhouse Juventus 3-1. They went on to win the Intercontinental Cup that year.

Borussia Dortmund play their home matches at the Signal Iduna Park that can accomodate 80,552 spectators. They bear the nickname the Black Yellows.


  • German Championship/Bundesliga Champions (8): 1956, 1957, 1963, 1994–95, 1995–96, 2001–02, 2010–11, 2011–12
  • DFB-Pokal Winners (5): 1964–65, 1988–89, 2011–12, 2016–17, 2020-21
  • DFB/DFL-Supercup Winners (6): 1989, 1995, 1996, 2013, 2014, 2019
  • UEFA Champions League Winners (1): 1996–97
  • UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup Winners (1): 1965–66
  • Intercontinental Cup Winners (1): 1997