The Premier League is the top-flight domestic football league in England. It is recognized as the richest and most popular domestic league in the world and is officially known as the Premier League, or the EPL.


Sport Soccer
Country England England
Founded 1992
Teams 20
Teams promoted / relegated 3

The Premier League was founded at the close of the 1991 season when the entire English football structure was revamped in an attempt to revitalize the popularity of football in England after the relative doldrums of the 1980s. On May 27, 1992 the FA Premier League was established as a limited company. Since then the Premier League has grown and developed and is now a huge money spinning machine.


It is comprised of 20 clubs and the season lasts from August to May of the following year. At the end of the season, the team that gathers the maximum number of points gets to win the league. The bottom three clubs are relegated to the Football League Championship.

The top four teams in the Premier League qualify for the UEFA Champions League. The top four automatically qualify for the group stages while the teams fifth and sixth go into the Europa League group stage, along with the FA Cup winner.

Manchester United are the most successful club in Premier League history and have won 13 Premier League titles so far. Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Leicester City, Liverpool and Manchester City too have won the Premier League, with the latter emerging as a financial powerhouse.

Most Titles

  • Manchester United - 13
  • Manchester City - 7
  • Chelsea - 5
  • Arsenal - 3
  • Blackburn Rovers - 1
  • Leicester City - 1
  • Liverpool - 1