In domestic English cricket the county of Durham is represented by the Durham County Cricket Club which is one of eighteen major county clubs in the country. The club was formed on 23rd May 1882.

In 1991 this team was permitted in the first class division and it participated in the first championship county during the 1992 season. This county played majorly in the minor counties championships in the 1990s.

This Durham Cricket Club was at the bottom of the championship in the 2004 One Day National Cricket league. In the Twenty20 Cup it occupied the 5th position in the Northern Division. During the 2005 season Durham County Cricket team played under the captaincy of Mike Hussey and was elevated to the second position. The club was promoted to the One day national cricket league and the County championship.

Over the years the Durham county cricket club has had several international players like Ian Botham, Shoiab Akhtar, Dean Jones, Collingwood, Liam Plunkett and Steve Harmison who have been a part of this team at some time or the other.

Country England England
City Durham
Founded 1882

During the 2006 season the Friends Provident trophy was played and Durham occupied the second spot in the North Division. However in the Twenty20 Cup the performance of the club was very poor and they were ranked the last in this tournament.

In the Friends Provident Trophy at Lords the Durham county cricket club defeated the Hampshire county cricket club in the final on 19th August 2007. This was the first trophy won by the Durham county cricket club in First Class County Cricket. This match was delayed due to rain however Durham won the match by 125 runs.

Major achievements

Won the 2007 Friends Provident Trophy

Won the Pro 40 Campaign in the year 2006