Karnataka Cricket Team

Sport Cricket
Country India India
Home town Bangalore

In the domestic cricket scenario in India, the state of Karnataka is represented by the Karnataka Cricket team. The home ground of this team is the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. This team is one of the strong squads in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group. Several leading players from the Indian cricket team have originated from the Karnataka cricket team.

In the Ranji Trophy season of 1995-96, Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu cricket team. Further, in the 1997-98 and 1998-99 seasons, it defeated Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh respectively in the final matches. This series of triumphs in the Ranji Trophy was due to the presence of players like Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath and Rahul Dravid. All these 3 players have represented the Indian national cricket team for a long span of time as the leading spinner, fast bowler and batsman respectivel during the 1990s and early 21st century. The remaining victories of the Karnataka cricket team in the Ranji Trophy took place in the 1970s and 1980s.

The Karnataka cricket team has emerged victorious in the Irani Trophy 4 times and has lost twice when the opponent was the Rest of India team. Some of the renowned players of the Karnataka cricket team are Vijay Bharadwaj, Gundappa Viswanath, Sudhakar Rao, M.R. Srinivas Prasad, Sujith Somasunder, Robin Uthappa, Sunil Joshi, Erapalli Prasanna, Brijest Patel, Syed Kirmani, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Roger Binny and Raghuram Bhat.

Major achievements

The Karnataka Cricket team has been victorious in the Ranji Trophy 6 times and 3 times has been the runners-up.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Abhay Burande
  • Share this page:

Member Activity


FB1 gave a rating of 6 to Karnataka Cricket Team -

Latest Articles

Ishwar Pandey, Stuart Binny selected in Indian squad

Ishwar Pandey, Stuart Binny selected in Indian squad

Madhya Pradesh fast bowler, Ishwar Pandey, has been selected for the national squad for both the ODI and Test match tours to New Zealand in January and February Continue reading

Yuvraj Singh makes India comeback

Yuvraj Singh makes India comeback

Yuvraj Singh has earned a recall to India’s limited overs squad for the forthcoming Twenty20 match and the first three ODIs of the home series against Australia.The selectors have made four changes to the ODI squad that won the Champions Trophy in England.Yuvraj replaces opener M Vijay, while Ambati Rayudu replaces his Mumbai Indians team mate Dine... Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

The Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy> is a domestic first class cricket competition which is played in India. This trophy title is played between te Continue reading

Cricket article sidebar

Guptill's century on debut & other such instances

There have been only two instances of bowlers having taken all ten wickets in an inning of a test match; Jim Laker and Anil Kumble, making it a record so rare, that it is difficult to compete with it. For the batsmen, another rarity is the number of runs chased in the fourth innings of a test match to win it, which has seen only four occasions in w... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    vicky Really Nice Article and Nice to See You having such nice Knowledge about cricket

    over 8 years ago

Team Roster

Name Position
Stuart Terence Roger Binny all-rounder
Manish Pandey batsman
Deepak Chougule batsman
Jagadeesha Suchith bowler
KP Apanna bowler
Gautam Muralidharen wicket-keeper
Abhimanyu Mithun bowler
Mayank Agarwal batsman
Jagadeesh Arunkumar batsman
Abrar Kazi bowler

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
image description