New Zealand Women's National Cricket Team

Country New Zealand New Zealand
City Wellington
Founded 1935
Nickname White Ferns
Coach Bob Carter

New Zealand Women’s National Cricket Team also known as the White Ferns represents the New Zealand team in International Women’s Cricket. They played their first recorded match on 16th February 1935 against the England women’s team at Christchurch in New Zealand.

The team is governed by the New Zealand Cricket Board. The team is currently being managed by Catherine Campbell and coached by Gary Stead. Haidee Tiffen is the captain of the White Fearns. The team has participated in all the Women’s World Cups and held the 3rd place in the 1973, 1978, 1982 and the 1988 World Cups. They were the runners up in the 1993 and 1997 World Cups and went on to win the 2000 World Cup beating the Australia women’s team by four runs after setting a target of 184 runs.

The team plays Tests, One day Internationals and have played Twenty20 International cricket even though their male counterparts are yet to venture into this format of cricket. They have also played in the Rose Bowl Series which is an annual event. The highest team total is 517 runs for 8 wickets against Australia in Test cricket and 455 runs for 5 wickets against Pakistan in One Day International Cricket.

In a total of 201 One day International matches, the team has won 109 matches and lost 86 matches and won 2 test matches and lost 10 matches in a total of 45 test matches that they have played.

Major Achievements

  • Runners up, Women’s World Cup, 1993 and 1997
  • Winners, Women’s World Cup, 2000.

Team Roster

Name Role
Sarah Kate Burke United States all-rounder
Rachel Helen Candy New Zealand all-rounder
Nicola Browne New Zealand bowler
Katey Martin New Zealand wicket-keeper

Bet Play-Money for Fun