Tasmanian Tigers

Country Australia Australia
Founded 1851

The official first class cricket team of Tasmania is called as the Tasmanian Tigers. The home ground of this team is on the Eastern Shore of Hobart called as Bellerive Oval. However sometimes matches are played at venues in Launceston and Devonport. This team takes part in domestic Twenty20, 4-day and 1-day competitions.

In the Ford Ranger Cup (a domestic one day competition) the Tasmanian Tigers has been the runner up in 1977-78 as well as 1986-87. The team has also been the runner-up thrice in the Sheffield Shield in 1993-94, 1997-98, 2001-02. KFC Twenty20 Big Bash is a domestic Twenty20 competition in Australia in which the Tasmanian Tigers participate and in 2006-07 the team was the runner-up.

In 1964 the Tasmanian Cricket Association was rejected when it made a bid to take part in the Sheffield Shield. In 1969 this team was given complete status to take part in the domestic one day competitions. In 1977 the Australian Cricket Board permitted the team to take part in the Sheffield Shield on a two year trial basis. In the 1978-79 Gillette Cup which is a domestic one day competition the Tasmanian Tigers were victorious. After a fortnight the team defeated Western Australia at Devonport by 4 wickets and this was the first victorious Shield match.

The players which are included in the Tasmanian Hall of Fame are as follows – Ricky Ponting, Colin Miller, Shaun Young, Dene Hills, Rod Tucker, Jamie Cox, Danny Buckingham, Peter Clough, Brian Davison, David Boon, Roger Woolley, Jack Simmons.

The 2007-08 squad comprises of players like Alex Doolan, Xavier Doherty, Michael Di Venuto, Michael Dighton, David Dawson, Sean Clingeleffer, Luke Butterworth, Travis Birt, Josh Bean, George Bailey and Dane Anderson.

Major achievements

The Tasmanian Tigers have won the Ford Ranger Cup thrice – 1978-79, 2004-05, 2007-08.

The team has won the Sheffield Shield in 2006-07.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by MaxD

Team Roster

Name Role
Harrison James Allanby Australia all-rounder
Gabe Bell Australia all-rounder
Luke Butterworth Australia all-rounder
Alex Doolan Australia batsman
Ben Robert Dunk Australia batsman
Evan Gulbis Australia batsman
Jackson Bird Australia bowler
Steven Cazzulino Australia bowler
Brendan Gerrard Drew Australia bowler
Andrew Loton Fekete Australia bowler

Bet Play-Money for Fun