The Denver Nuggets are a professional basketball team playing under the National Basketball Association based (NBA) based in Denver, Colorado. The team was established in 1967 but however joined the NBA ten years later in 1976. The team also played under the American Basketball Association (ABA) in 1976. E. Stanley is the present owner of the team. The team is led by the head coach George Karl. The first two seasons of the team was their best seasons in the history of the Nuggets franchise. With the Nuggets team making it to the ABA finals. As the ABA was going to fold down and was in its last year this was only chance for the Nuggets to Clinch the ABA title.

In the 1975-76 season, after making it to the finals the Nuggets were successful to take home both the ABA Division title as well as the ABA conference title. During this period the team was being trained under Coach Larry Brown. David Thompson and Marvin Webster were the two new signings of the Nuggets.

Country United States United States
City Denver, Colorado
Founded 1967
Ground Ball Arena
Coach Michael Malone

In 1976 the Denver Nuggets got entry into the NBA. They continued their victorious record in the earlier games of the season as they won the Division titles in the first two seasons of the week. Ultimately the Nuggets could not withstand the power play of the NBA teams and thus went on a loosing spree.

In the 1984-85 season the Nuggets made it to the Western Conference finals, but lost to the powerful Los Angeles Lakers leaving the team with a NBA Division title. In 1988 the Nuggets were once again successful to clinch the NBA Division title. Till the year 2000 the team failed to achieve any of the titles.

In 2003 the Nuggets drafted the All-Star Carmelo Anthony in the team. In just two of the expansion draft the team had managed to win more games than they had achieved in the period of 6 months.

In the 2005-06 season the Nuggets were able to win the Northwest division title after struggling for 18 long years. The team was seeded at the 3rd position in the Western Conference playoffs. Due to the relatively bad record of the Nuggets the team lost to the 6th seeded Los Angeles Clippers.

Alex English, Dan Issel and David Thompson were one of the players from the team who found their name in the Hall of Famers.

The Pepsi center is the home court of the Denver Nuggets. This arena is located in Denver, Colorado. The building is owned by Stan Kroenke and has a maximum capacity of 19,309.

Major achievements

  • 2 ABA Division titles (1970, 1975)
  • 9 NBA Division titles (1977, 1978, 1985, 1988, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2019, 2020)