At the US Open, things were not going the way Serena Williams had hoped for. Even before the Williams began berating Eva Asderaki, chair umpire, she was already going downhill. During the final match against Sam Stosur, Williams’ shots were notably off target and Stosur was playing better than she ever had.
The highlight of the match was when Williams shot a forehand which she celebrated prematurely. The point was awarded to Stosur as the latter reached for a backhand, so the celebratory shot was not finished. When the umpire awarded Stosur with the point, Williams launched a tirade of insults that were directed at the official. Although it was not as ugly as the tirade Williams had two years ago, it was definitely something that was similar to it.
At the end of the match, it was Stosur’s steadiness and powerful shots that won over the seasoned Serena Williams. The win was a result of a 6-2, 6-3 match which was quite lopsided for Stosur’s first ever Grand Slam title.
Just as Stosur was elated and leaving the court as the new US Open champion, Serena Williams on the other hand is possibly once more facing disciplinary action. When Williams was asked if she had any regrets about saying the words, the multiply Grand Slam champion simply rolled her eyes and said, “I don’t even remember what I said. It was just so intense out there… I guess I’ll see it on YouTube.”
As for the victor, Stosur said, “I’m still kind of speechless. I can’t actually believe I won this tournament… I guess to go out there and play the way I did is obviously just an unbelievable feeling, and you always hope and you want to be able to do that, but to actually do it, is unbelievable.”