Football Article

Euro 2008 Latest Squad Reports

The Euro 2008 finals in Austria and Switzerland is weighing heavily upon our dreams now and the coaches of the respective national sides, who have qualified for one of football’s most celebrated football competition, have been naming their final 23-mn squad.

The latest coaches to have announced their final 23-man squad are the Italian national coach Roberto Donadoni, French coach Raymond Domenech and Greek national team boss Otto Rehhagel.

Donadoni decided to leave the Fiorentina midfielder Riccardo Montolivo out of his final team while Domenech decided not to take Djibril Cisse, Philippe Mexes and Mathieu Flamini to the finals.

Indeed the exclusion of the AS Roma central defender Mexes is quite a surprise since he is one of the best defenders in the Italian Serie A while Flamini had just had his best season in the Premiership.

Greece national team coach Otto Rehhagel had no such big surprise lined up in his sleevse in terms of team selection. As anticipated it was AEK Athens Socratis Papastathopoulos who couldn’t make the final.

Here are the final 23-man squads of the respective teams.


Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Marco Amelia (Livorno), Morgan De Sanctis (Sevilla)

Defenders: Cristian Panucci (Roma), Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid), Andrea Barzagli (Palermo), Marco Materazzi (Inter), Fabio Grosso (Lyon), Gianluca Zambrotta (Barcelona), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Midfielders: Rino Gattuso, Andrea Pirlo, Massimo Ambrosini (Milan), Daniele De Rossi, Simone Perrotta, Alberto Aquilani (Roma), Mauro German Camoranesi (Juventus)

Forwards: Luca Toni (Bayern Munich), Marco Borriello (Genoa), Antonio Di Natale, Fabio Quagliarella (Udinese), Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus), Antonio Cassano (Sampdoria)

Standby: Riccardo Montolivo (Fiorentina)


Goalkeepers: Gregory Coupet (Lyon), Sebastien Frey (Fiorentina/ITA), Steve Mandanda (Marseille)

Defenders: Eric Abidal (Barcelona/ESP), Patrice Evra (Manchester United/ENG), William Gallas (Arsenal/ENG), Willy Sagnol (Bayern Munich/GER), Lilian Thuram (Barcelona/ESP), Francois Clerc (Lyon), Sebastien Squillaci (Lyon), Jean-Alain Boumsong (Lyon)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Portsmouth/ENG), Claude Makelele (Chelsea/ENG), Jeremy Toulalan (Lyon), Patrick Vieira (Inter Milan/ITA), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich/GER), Samir Nasri (Marseille)

Forwards:: Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea/ENG), Thierry Henry (Barcelona/ESP), Florent Malouda (Chelsea/ENG), Karim Benzema (Lyon), Sidney Govou (Lyon), Bafetimbi Gomis (St Etienne).


Goalkeepers: 1-Antonis Nikopolidis (Olympiacos), 12-Costas Chalkias (Aris), 13-Alexandros Tzorvas (OFI)

Defenders: 2-Giourkas Seitaridis (Atletico Madrid), 3-Christos Patsatzoglou (Olympiacos), 4-Nikos Spyropoulos (Panathinaikos), 5-Traianos Dellas (AEK), 11-Loukas Vintra (Panathinaikos), 15-Vassilis Torosidis (Olympiacos),16-Sotiris Kyrgiakos (Eintracht Frankfurt), 18-Giannis Goumas (Panathinaikos), 19-Paraskevas Antzas (Olympiacos)

Midfielders: 6-Angelos Basinas (Real Mallorca), 8-Stelios Giannakopoulos (Bolton Wanderers), 10-Georgios Karagounis (Panathinaikos), 21-Costas Katsouranis (Benfica), 22-Alexandros Tziolis (Panathinaikos)

Forwards: 7-Giorgios Samaras (Celtic), 9-Angelos Charisteas (Nuremberg), 14-Dimitris Salpigidis (Panathinaikos), 17-Fanis Gekas (Bayer Leverkusen), 20-Giannis Amanatidis (Eintracht Frankfurt), 23-Nikos Liberopoulos (AEK)

Subhankar mondal
Subhankar Mondal Sports Pundit staff writer

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image

Related Articles