Team India

Sport Racing
Country India India
Home town New Delhi
Founding year 2005

The entry from India for the A1 Grand Prix is A1 Team India, and it all set to make a stronger impact in the third season, with new investor support from Spice Group. The team car was unveiled on July 2005, and it finished in the 22nd position in the first season, which it upgraded to 16th position in the 2006-07 season. With sights set on a podium finish, Spice Group plans to promote the World Cup of Motorsports extensively in India. Ravi Chilukuri, Spice promoter, and Andy Sehgal are also A1 Team India’s seat holder for this season. Other companies which have their brands displayed on the car are, and AquaSP, which is a Swiss based water purification product.

Lead driver of A1 Team India, is speed maestro Narain Karthikeyan, with Parthiva Sureshwaren as the rookie driver.

Continuing to work with A1 Team India this year as well is Arena Motorsport, a UK based team which was founded by Mike Earle. The team is known for its participation in the Formula One, as Onyx Formula One Team, as well as the British Touring Car Championship. Apart from being a successful team owner, Mike Earle is also one of the most experienced team managers in the last few decades. Earle has managed teams in almost all arenas of motorsport, such as Formula 3000, Formula 3, Formula 2 and Formula 1.

The Chief Operating Officer of A1 Team India is Yohann Setna, who has been associated with the team since the first season. Chief Marketing Officer is Daljit Singh, and Media Manager is Aashika Abraham.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Anjali Nambissan
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Who will replace Mark Webber at Red Bull Racing?

No image 78x78

Mark Webber’s announcement that he is to retire at the end of the current Formula One season sparked off an intense debate as to who will replace the Australian at Red Bull Racing from 2014 onwards. Continue reading

HRT Excluded From F1 2013 Season

HRT Excluded From F1 2013 Season

Spanish-based racing team HRT appear set to miss the 2013 Formula One season due to financial difficulties, leaving 11 teams for next year. Continue reading

Alonso Wants Faster Ferrari

Alonso Wants Faster Ferrari

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso produced an excellent 2012 season to go within a whisker of the Drivers’ Championship and he now wants his Italian team to produce a faster car for 2013 to boost his chances. Continue reading

Button Wins After Early Carnage

Button Wins After Early Carnage

McLaren driver Jenson Button led from start to finish to claim victory at the Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday, although it was a race full of drama after an opening corner crash knocked out several title contenders. Continue reading