Punjab Cricket team

Sport Cricket
Country India India
Home town Punjab

The Punjab Cricket team represents the state of Punjab in India and is an official first class cricket team. The home ground of this team is the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium in Mohali, Chandigarh. This ground was constructed in 1993 and has floodlights. The area where this ground is now built was in the past swampland.

The Punjab Cricket team has been victorious in the Ranji Trophy only once in history. In the same year, they were defeated by Rest of India team in the Irani Trophy. The Rest of India team had players like Nayan Mongia, Ajay Jadeja, Sourav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid. The Punjab Cricket team has never been successful in winning the Ranji ODI Trophy. In the previous five seasons, the Punjab team has reached the semi-finals of the Ranji Trophy three times. During the 2004-05 Ranji Trophy, the Punjab team reached the final but had to face defeat at the hands of Railways.

Some of the famous players from the Punjab cricket team are Navjot Singh Sidhu, Dinesh Mongia, Bishan Bedi, Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh. Some of the current players in this team are Pankaj Dharmani, Dinesh Mongia, V.R.V. Singh, Reetinder Sodhi and Ishan Malhatra.

Major achievements

The Punjab Cricket team won the Ranji Trophy in the 1992-93 season.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Abhay Burande
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kings XI Punjab IPL 2016 live & preview

Tiny cricket

The Sunrisers Hyderabad with two wins and two losses in the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL) to date, play host to the Kings XI Punjab at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on Saturday.The Kings XI will arrive in Hyderabad as the bottom team in the qualifying group, having managed to win just one of their four fixtures going into the ... Continue reading

Delhi Daredevils v Kings XI Punjab IPL 2016 live & preview

Delhi Daredevils v Kings XI Punjab IPL 2016 live & preview

The Delhi Daredevils (DD) and the Kings XI Punjab face each other on Friday at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi in what is for both teams is their second fixture of the 2016 Indian Premier League (IPL).The two sides have participated in the IPL since its inception in 2008, but as yet they have managed just one Grand Final appearance between them, and hav... Continue reading

Gujarat Lions v Rising Pune Supergiants live & preview IPL 2016

Gujarat Lions v Rising Pune Supergiants live & preview IPL 2016

The two teams that are new to the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2016, the Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants, meet each other on Thursday at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot.It would have taken a brave or perhaps foolish man to predict that after all eight competing sides in the tournament had completed their first game in ... Continue reading

Chennai Super Kings v Mumbai Indians live & preview IPL 2015 Playoffs

Tiny cricket

The knockout phase of the 2015 Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL) begins on Tuesday at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai with a match between the top two sides in the regular season table, Chennai Super Kings who finished at the top of the pile, and Mumbai whose sensational late season form propelled them into second position.The format of the IPL, means ... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Love Ablish bowler
Chandan Madan wicket-keeper
Sarabjeet Ladda bowler
Sarabjit Ladda bowler
Sunny Sohal batsman
Sarul Kanwar batsman
Yuvraj Singh all-rounder
Amanpreet Singh Gill bowler

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Posts Last Post By