Delhi Cricket Team

Sport Cricket
Country India India
Home town Delhi

The cricket team of Delhi, the capital city of India, is called as the Delhi Cricket Team. The home ground of this team is Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium. This team takes part in several domestic tournaments in the country like Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy, Irani Trophy and Ranji Trophy.

The Delhi Cricket team has produced several players who have been selected in the India national cricket team. Some of these prominent players are as follows – Akash Chopra, Gautam Gambhir, Virendra Sehwag, Manoj Prabhakar, Bishan Singh Bedi, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Chetan Chauhan, Ajay Sharma, Mohinder Amarnath and Ajay Jadeja.

In the Deodhar and Duleep Trophy, Delhi cricket team is a North Zone team. In the Ranji Trophy, the Delhi cricket team has been the winner 7 times and the runners-up 7 times. The latest Ranji Trophy title that this team won was in 2007-08. The team won this trophy after a long gap of 16 years. Prior to this win, the team had won the trophy in 1991-92 by defeating Tamil Nadu in the final. Throughout the history of the Ranji Trophy, the Delhi cricket team has displayed a good performance. The team had a mixed fortune in the Irani Trophy. It was the winner of this tournament 2 times and thrice lost to the Rest of India team.

Major achievements

The Delhi cricket team won 3 Ranji Trophies in the 1980s and the remaining in the late 1970s. The team was very dominant during this period. The period from 1978 to 1987 was a golden period for Delhi. With the exception of 1 year, the team was in the finals for all years. It won the title 4 times and was the runners-up 4 times.

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Abhay Burande
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Royal Challengers Bangalore v Rajasthan Royals live & preview IPL 2015

Tiny cricket

When the Royal Challengers Bangalore began their fourteenth and final qualifying match on Sunday against the already eliminated Delhi Daredevils, they knew that victory would secure a top two place, and a chance to play the Chennai Super Kings for a place direct into the 2015 Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL) final at Eden Gardens next Sunday.Unfort... Continue reading

Mumbai Indians v Kolkata Knight Riders live & preview IPL 2015 at Wankhede Stadium

Tiny cricket

The Mumbai Indians go head to head with the reigning Champions the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday, as the qualifying process in the 2015 Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL) reaches fever pitch.Although Mumbai are currently in sixth position in the table, they still have a chance of making it through to the semi-fin... Continue reading

Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore live & preview IPL 2015 at Mohali

Tiny cricket

As the Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL) moves into the final stages of the qualifying process, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s victory over the bottom of the table side, the Kings XI Punjab on Monday, moved the victors into the top four, in place of the Royal Challengers Bangalore.That change of positions is unlikely to be the last that we will see over the ... Continue reading

Delhi Daredevils v Chennai Super Kings live & preview IPL 2015 at Raipur

Tiny cricket

Sunday’s victory for the Super Kings in Chennai against the Rajasthan Royals, ensured that the men in yellow, the most successful team in the history of the Pepsi Indian Premier League (IPL), would be appearing in the semi-finals yet again in 2015.It maintains their record of having progressed from the qualifying group in each edition of the IPL sin... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Parvinder Awana bowler
Ashish Nehra bowler
Pawan Suyal bowler
Sumit Narwal all-rounder
Ishant Sharma bowler
Rajat Bhatia all-rounder
Vikas Mishra bowler
Shikhar Dhawan batsman
Puneet Bisht wicket-keeper
Pradeep Sangwan bowler

Recent Forum Activity

Topic Posts Last Post By