Australia national women's cricket team

Sport Cricket
Country Australia Australia
Home town Canbbera
Founding year 1934

The Australian Women’s cricket team is one of the oldest international women’s cricket teams in the world. The team’s first recorded match was against England held on 28th December 1934 at Brisbane in Australia.

The team is governed by the Australian Cricket Board also known as Cricket Australia. The team is currently being coached by Richard McInnes, who has served as the Performance Analyst for the Australian National Men’s cricket team. They are currently captained by Karen Rolton. The team has played in eight ICC Women’s World Cups in 1973, 1978, 1982, 1988, 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2005. The team has won the World Cup Championships in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005 making them the current Women’s World Cup Championship team.

The team plays Test, One day and Twenty20 formats of the cricket and has won the World Cup for more number of times than any other women’s cricket teams. They won the 2005 Women’s World Cup by beating the Indian Women’s Cricket team by 98 runs in the World Cup finals. Captain Rolton scored the highest runs in the innings by scoring 107 runs and remaining not out. The Australian Women’s Cricket team has a highest team total of 412 runs for 3 wickets and 569 runs for 9 wickets in One day and Test cricket respectively.

In a total of 66 International test matches they have played, the Australian Women’s team has won 18 matches and lost 8 matches. They have also won 158 matches and lost 34 matches in a total of 197 One day Internationals they have played.

Major Achievements

World Cup Champions, 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by mr Sporter
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

England Women team surprised the nation in 1993

Tiny cricket

Since 1976, women cricket teams were not allowed in the Lord’s pavilion or even to be members of the MCC, the Marylebone Cricket Club. But, in 1993, with late provision of 90,000 pound grant from the Foundation for Sport and Arts and also through some high profile individual gifts, it was possible for the England team to go ahead.Despite the media i... Continue reading

Edwards proves her worth

Tiny cricket

The English women’s national cricket team skipper, Charlotte Edwards has proved her worth for the MBE title by winning a second World Cup in just few months.Edwards was awarded the MBE for her contributions towards the game of cricket after she lead England to a victory in the 50-over World Cup held in Australia. She followed that up with a superb p... Continue reading

West Indies and Pakistan declare Women squads

Tiny cricket

== West Indies Women’s Cricket team == The West Indies have maintained almost the same women’s squad for the World Twenty20 in June as was selected for the World Cup in Australia. Two players who went to Australia have not been selected for England. They are Geneille Greaves and Afy Fletcher. There is one new inclusion in the form of Juliana Nero. S... Continue reading

Sri Lanka drops key cricketers

Tiny cricket

The World Twenty20 of Women’s cricket would be played in the United Kingdom from 5th to 21st June. Pool B comprises of 4 teams, namely, India, England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. == Dropped players == Sri Lanka has announced its team for the World Twenty20. However, the selectors have not selected the top three run-getters of the Sri Lanka team in the ... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Bronwyn Calver
Shelley Nitschke
Lisa Sthalekar
Ellyse Perry
Delissa Kimmince
Erin Osborne
Emma Sampson
Alex Blackwell
Rene Farrell bowler
Leah Poulton

Recent Forum Activity

Topic Posts Last Post By