Indian Premier League

Sport: Cricket
Country: India India
Founding year: 2008
Teams: 8
Teams promoted / relegated: 0

The Indian Premier League is engineered by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and is a Twenty20 cricket competition. The franchises in this league are as follows – Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals. The first season of the IPL began on 18th April 2008 and was successfully completed on 1st June 2008. Due to a successful first season, it has been planned that in 2010-11, four new franchises would be added.

The IPL has specified some rules regarding the team composition. The overall squad strength must be 16 players along with a coach and a physio. In a single squad, there can be maximum 8 foreign players and in the playing eleven, there can be maximum 4. Every team must have minimum 4 local players. Every team must have minimum 4 players from the BCCI under-22 pool. Such under-22 players must have a minimum salary of 20,000 USD. Other players must be paid minimum 50,000 USD. The players that have been selected as “Icon players” within a team should be remunerated 15 percent more that the highest paid cricketer in the team.

  • Improve this page!
  • Share this page:

Standings table 2018

Rank Team G W D L GF GA Pts
1 Sunrisers Hyderabad Sunrisers 14 9 0 5 18
2 Chennai Super Kings Super Kings 14 9 0 5 18
3 Kolkata Knight Riders Knight Riders 14 8 0 6 16
4 Rajasthan Royals Rajasthan Royals 14 7 0 7 14
5 Mumbai Indians Mumbai Indians 14 6 0 8 12
6 Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers 14 6 0 8 12
7 Kings XI Punjab Kings XI Punjab 14 6 0 8 12
8 Delhi Daredevils Delhi Daredevils 14 5 0 9 10

Related Videos

Related Articles

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
Wales National Cricket Team? 1
Fitness: the bane of Indian tennis 1
Prisoners stage hunger strike in order to watch the IPL matches 3
Foreign Players 2
Next match? 5