Cricket Article

Runners-up New Zealand declare probables

For the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 to be played in June 2009, New Zealand has declared its preliminary squad which is comprised of 30 players. Out of the team that reached the final of the Women’s World Cup recently, 2 players were omitted. First was captain Haidee Tiffen who has recently retired and second was Beth McNeill. gary stead

Coach’s remarks

Gary Stead, the coach, declared that there was a plan of holding a camp from 24th to 26th April 2009. During this period, the team would play some Twenty20 games. Depending on the performance of the players during these games, the final team of 14 players would be chosen. This team would be announced in early May. Stead added that the nation was fortunate to have a majority of players from the ICC Women’s World Cup available for the tournament in June. Obviously, the services of Haidee Tiffen would be missed. However, in the recent season’s State League Twenty20 competition, several players have delivered good performances and these are now being considered for a place in the team.

Preliminary team

Kelly Winkley, Anna Wilkins, Megan Wakefield, Sarah Tsukigawa, Amy Satterthwaite, Sian Ruck, Kate Pulford, Rachel Priest, Megan Murphy, Michelle Mitchell, Prashilla Mistry, Sara McGlashan, Aimee Mason, Katey Martin, Frances Mackay, Victoria Lind, Maria Fahey, Lucy Doolan, Anna Dodd, Sophie Devine, Amanda Cooper, Rachel Candy, Emma Campbell, Abby Burrows, Sarah Burke, Saskia Bullen, Nicola Browne, Kate Broadmore, Amber Boyce and Suzie Bates.

Abhay burande
Abhay Burande Sports Pundit member

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image

Related Articles