Wimbledon Wimbledon

Wimbledon is one of the Grand Slam tennis tournaments. Officially it is known as The Championships, Wimbledon. It holds the distinction of being the oldest tennis tournament in the entire world. It hosts 5 main events – men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles, and mixed doubles.

The current venue for Wimbledon is the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club. It has grass courts, which makes Wimbledon the only Grand Slam tennis event held on grass.


The Championships was founded in 1877. As of 2021, it has had 134 editions. The inaugural event had a men’s championship and was held over five days. In the early 1910s and 1920s, it was recognized as the World Grass Court Championships by the International Lawn Tennis Federation.


Wimbledon is fourth in the Grand Slam schedule. It comes after the Australian Open and the French Open and occurs before the US Open. It is traditionally held in late June and early July. It typically lasts two weeks. Later changes have pushed the event to the first week of July.

Throughout its history, the events were canceled a few times. The most recent one was in 2020 and this was due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Prior to that, the last cancellation was for Word War II.

Points of Interest

The tournament has a strict all-white dress code. Players are also served strawberries and cream. Advertising is allowed around the courts but only by the official sponsors of the matches.

A retractable court was fitted in 2009 to go over the Centre Court. In 2019, a roof was added over No.1 Court.

Notable Players and Records

Roger Federer holds the record for the most men’s singles title wins with 8. For women, this title is held by Martina Navratilova with 9. The most consecutive men’s singles title goes is held by William Renshaw. Navratilova holds this title women’s with 6.

Unseeded players who have won a title include Boris Becker and Goran Ivanisevic. The youngest singles champion is Lottie Dod who won in 1887 at just 15 years and 9 months. The oldest winner is Arthur Gore who won in 1909 when he was 41 years and 6 months.

Andy Murray is noted for being the first British male singles champion since 1936 when Fred Perry won.

Players who have won both the singles and juniors championships include Roger Federer, Martina Hingis, Amelie Mauresmo, Björn Borg, Ashleigh Barty, Stefan Edberg, Ann Haydon, and Karen Hantze.

What's Your Take?

Reply to