The Kremlin Open is a professional tennis tournament that is held in Moscow, Russia. It is a part of both the ATP tour and the WTA tours. The 2021 event was held at the Irina Viner-Usmanova Gymnastics Palace and the Luzhniki Palace of Sports. Its usual home is the Olympic Stadium but since 2019, it has been undergoing renovations.

The latest champions of the Kremlin Open include Aslan Karatsev, Anett Kontaveit, Harri Heliovaara, Matwe Middelkoop, Jelena Ostapenko, and Katerina Siniakova.


The Kremlin Cup was established in 1990. It was created by Iranian Jewish tennis promoter Sasson Khakshouri. It was the first international tennis tournament to be based and held in Russia. For the first five years of its run, the Kremlin Cup only cater to men’s tennis. It became a joint event in 1996.

From its inception in 1990 to 2007, the event was held on the carpet surface. They then switched to RuKortHard Surface. In 2016, they switched again and since then, it has been held on TPSurface.

The events hosted at the Kremlin Cup include men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, and men’s doubles.

From 1990 to 1999, it was a part of the ATP World Series. It then moved to the ATP International Series from 2000 to 2008. Since 2000, it has been a part of the ATP 250 series. From 1997 to 2000, it was a part of WTA Tier I. Since 2009, it was moved to the WTA Premier.

The tournament was not held in 2020 due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Notable Players

Some of the more notable tennis players who have won titles at the Kremlin Open include Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Taylor Dent, Andrey Rublev, and Aslan Karatsev. Women’s champions include Belinda Bencic, Anett Kontaveit, Caroline Wozniacki, and Svetlana Kuznetsova.

Notable doubles champions include Max Mirnyi, Philipp Oswald, Andrey Rublev, and Dmitry Tursunov. Women’s doubles winners include Martina Hingis, Flavia Pennetta, Shuko Aoyama, and Ena Shibahara.