The Sardegna Open is a single-year license tennis tournament that was part of the ATP World Tour 250. This was held in Cagliari, Italy last April 5-11, 2021 at the Tennis Club Cagliari. The original plan is to make this tournament part of the Italian 250 in 2020, however, the organizers decided to postpone the event due to the global pandemic and the increased percentage of players getting positive for COvid-19.

Point System and Prize Money of the Sardegna Open

Because the Sardegna Open is only a minor event in the ATP World Tour Series, it is expected that the reigning champion will receive 250 points with €40,100 prize money. The runner-ups will receive 150 points with €28,750. The winner for the Sardegna Open was Lorenzo Sonego with runner-up Dere for the single editions, while for the double edition were Lorenzo Sonego and Andrea Vavassoru with runner-ups Simone Bolelli and Andres Molteni.

Lorenzo Sonego as the Breakthrough Athlete of the Sardegna Open

Lorenzo Sonego made a promising performance at the 2021 Sardegna Open as he was champion on both Singles and Doubles Edition. At the same time, the 25-year-old Sonego had reached his career-high ranking in the World Number 30 of the FedEx ATP Rankings. He was also the first Italian to clinch the tour-level trophy at Palermo in October 2006.