The Abierto Mexicano Telcel, or commonly called The Mexican Open, is played on outdoor hard courts held at the Fairmont Acapulco Princess in Mexico. This event is sponsored by Telcel and HSBC, that’s why for sponsorship purposes, it is called the Abierto Mexicano Telcel. The tournament began in 1993 as part of the ATP Tour, and in 2001, the WTA organizers decided to join. Before it was moved to Acapulco, Mexico, the original venue was in Mexico City from 1993 to 1998.

The Mexico Open - Favorite ATP Tour for Players

Many players have noted that one of their favorite ATP Tours was the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presentado por HSBC, and the tournament was hailed as the best tournament of the year for years 2017 and 2019. The Mexico Open can accommodate more than 55,000 tennis spectators in the stadium.

What Happened in Abierto Mexicano Telcel in 2021?

Due to the ongoing global pandemic, the Abierto Mexicano Telco was moved to March 15-20, 2021. The final tournament was rather intense because Stefanos Tsitsipas and Alexander Zverev, who are known to be rivals on the court, faced each other. Besides, they are considered to be leading players on the ATP World 250, with relentless stamina when playing.

Zverev was able to bring home the bacon after the intense match. He shared during an interview that he was extremely happy with the result, and his main goal is to advance to the Grand Slams and achieve it. The humble Zverev thanked the Acapulco crowd, because they supported him and how Mexican welcomed him.

Notable Players in Abierto Mexicano Telcel

The players who hold the most number of championship titles are Thomas Muster (1993-1996) and David Ferrer (2010-2012, 2015), while Muster remained to be the only player who had the most number of consecutive wins. On the other hand, Amanda Coetzer shared the same record with Flavia Pennetta, Venus Williams, Lesia Tsurenko, and Sara Errani.