The ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament, or currently called Rotterdam Open, is an ATP event played in indoor hard courts. This event is held annually in Rotterdam, Netherlands at Rotterdam Ahoy. This tournament was attended by Roger Federer, where he became a champion holder in 2005, 2012, and 2018. Federer and Arthur Ashe are the only players who hold the most titles in the tournament.

The Foundation of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament

The first edition of the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament was held in November 1972, where Arthur Ashe was hailed champion. The following year, the organization decided to move the tournament to March, however, this was not well-accepted by the tennis community. The ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament was supposed to be a part of the World Championship in 1978, however, in 1990, the management decided to make it part of the ATP Tour.

One of the most unforgettable moments in Rotterdam Open is when the match of Ivan Lendl and Jimmy Connors was interrupted by a false bomb alarm. The match was not finished because of it, and Lendl has to give up the match because he wasn’t prepared to play.

Roger Federer’s Niche

One of the events that Roger Federer has been thankful for is the Rotterdam Open, where he won three times. After he won a title in 2012, he had a 6-year hiatus in the Rotterdam until he decided to come at the 2018 Rotterdam Open. Because of his absence, many fans were thrilled to see him on the court. The number of attendees was more than 120,000 only to see Federer back in action. Eventually, Federer won another title in 2018.

Top Tennis Players in Rotterdam Open

For the past decades, every tennis legend has played for the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament, such as Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas, and Jannik Sinner. No wonder that the Rotterdam Open has been hailed as one of the most innovative tennis tournaments in the world.