The San Diego Open is also known as the South Carolina Open. It is one of the tournaments that have been granted a license in 2021 under the ATP following the cancellation of other tournaments due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Prior to this, the San Diego Open was a WTA event. Its last edition under the WTA was held in 2015. It was granted a single-year license under the ATP in 2021.

History in the WTA

The first edition under the original San Diego Open was held in 1984. Scheduled a week before the 1000 Indian Wells Masters, it had a tradition of attracting a number of top players. It achieved Tier 1 status in 2004 and was considered an important warm-up tournament to the US Open. It later acquired sponsorship and branding. It changed hands a number of times before it finally folded in 2015.


The Banes Tennis Centre San Diego was given a one-year license under the ATP 250. It was scheduled to be held a week before the Indian Wells Masters. Top players signed up to play for the tournament including Andy Murray, Casper Ruud, Cameron Norrie, Andrey Rublev. Ruud took home the singles titles. While the team-up of British players Joe Salisbury and Neal Skupski got the doubles title.

2021 San Diego Open

The 2021 tournament was held from September 27 to October 3, 2021. It was hosted by the Barnes Tennis Centre. It offered outdoor hard courts. There were 28 singles matches and 16 doubles matches.