The Atlanta Open is a professional tennis tournament in the ATP, which is held in Atlanta, Georgia. For 2021, it is known as the Truist Atlanta Open because it is sponsored by the Truist Financial Corporation. The tournament is held at the Atlantic Station and has been since 2012.

It is part of the ATP 250 Series and it is also a part of the USTA’s US Open Series.


The Atlanta Open was founded in 2010 and has been a part of the ATP 250 Series since then. It was originally named the Atlanta Tennis Championships before it started to sign up with sponsors. Its current sponsor is Truist.

Venue and Court

The first few editions of the Atlanta Open were held at the Atlanta Athletic Club. It moved, for a while, to the Racquet Club of the South in 2011 before it settled to its current home, the Atlantic Station which is located in midtown Atlanta, Georgia.

The court has the capacity to seat 4,000 spectators.

American Domination

For the first six years of the tournament’s history, only American players won. It started with back-to-back wins by Mardy Fish in 2010 and 2011. Andy Roddick won in 2012 and John Isner won three years in a row from 2013 to 2015.

His streak and the American domination were broken by Australian player Nick Kyrgios. A year later, John Isner was back and won the 2017 event. He also won in 2018. Another Australian, Alex de Minaur, broke Isner’s streak in 2019.

In 2021, Isner won the Atlanta Open again. This marked his sixth win at the tournament.


As of 2021, John Isner holds the most records at the Atlanta Open. He has the most singles wins at 6. He has made the most consecutive wins at 3 and he has reached the most singles finals at 9.

Isner has also played the most matches, playing 41 matches from 2010 to 2021. He won 36 of those matches, this is another Atlanta Open record. Isner is also the player with the most appearances at the Atlanta Open with 11.