The Australian Open is the first tennis Grand Slam of the year currently played in January every season. And all the information on the 2019 Australian Open including its live streaming options, schedule, predictions, and ways to buy their tickets for the Australian Open along with its draw and order of play can be found below.

History of the Australian Open:

The first ever edition of the Australian Open was held in 1905, and it has been played on grass courts in the past before moving to the hard-court surface. Till 2007, the green coloured Rebound Ace was used before the organieers turned to the blue Plexicushion. It is organised by the Tennis Australia and has been called the Australasian Championships and Australian Championships in the past before its current name, the Australian Open from 1969.

Sport Tennis
Country Australia Australia
Teams 0

There are three main courts associated with the Australian Open, including the Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Arena and the Margaret Court Arena which was recently refurbished.

Currently it’s hosted in Melbourne but it is the only Grand Slam to have been played across as many as seven different cities since its inception including Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth, Christchurch and Hastings.

Previous Australian Open Records:

  • Most Men’s Singles Titles: 6 (Roy Emerson, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer)
  • Most Women’s Singles Titles: 11 (Margaret Court), 7 (Serena Williams)

What Happened at the 2018 Australian Open?

Roger Federer and Caroline Wozniacki won the respective, men’s and women’s singles titles at the competition. It was Federer’s sixth singles title at the Australian Open and the 20th Grand Slam overall, while Wozniacki had gone on to win her first ever major after many years of trying.

Federer had gone into the tournament as the defending champion and made it two wins in a row when he defeated Marin Cilic in the final. It took him a five-setter alright but that gave him his 20th Grand Slam title. It had earlier also meant that Cilic had become the first Croat to reach the title-decider at the Australian Open.

Novak Djokovic was sent out in the fourth round by Hyeon Chung while Rafael Nadal retired from his quarter-final match against Cilic because of an injury, one of his many retirements or withdrawals during the year because of fitness-related concerns.

In the women’s singles draw, the absence of Serena Williams allowed a fourth different Grand Slam winner in as many tournaments, as Wozniacki defeated Simona Halep in the final. It was a match between two players who had both not won a Grand Slam title in the past.

Halep needed to huff and puff into the final, winning the final set 9-7 while Wozniacki’s easy semi-final win over Elise Mertens meant she was relatively fresher in that title-decider.

2019 Australian Open Schedule

The tournament will begin from January 14, 2019 with the opening round matches and go all the way through to January 27 when the men’s singles final will be played. The qualifying rounds will be held before that.

  • Days 1 & 2: Men’s & Women’s First Round
  • Days 3 & 4: Men’s & Women’s Second Round
  • Days 5 & 6: Men’s & Women’s Third Round
  • Days 7 & 8: Men’s & Women’s Fourth Round
  • Days 9 & 10: Men’s & Women’s Quarter-Finals
  • Day 11: Women’s Singles Semi-Finals
  • Day 12: Men’s Singles Semi-Finals
  • Day 13: Women’s Singles Final
  • Day 14: Men’s Singles Final

How to watch the 2019 Australian Open Live Streaming & other Broadcast Options?

Australian viewers will be able to watch the tournament live with Channel Nine this year, whose deal to telecast the tournament goes all the way through to 2024. The tournament will be telecast on the Wide World of Sports, 9Gem and 9Now in Australia.

Fox Sports is the broadcast partner for the rest of the Asia-Pacific and South East Asia region while New Zealand fans along with the other Oceania-Pacific region viewers can watch the tournament with Sky TV. The rest of the options are mentioned below:

  • Japan: Wowow and NHK
  • China: CCTV, Shanghai TV and iQiyi.
  • India and other sub-continent: Sony Six/ESPN
  • Europe: Eurosport
  • Switzerland: SRG channel
  • United States: ESPN2, ESPN3 and Tennis Channel
  • Central and Latin America: ESPN International
  • Canada: TSN
  • Middle East and Northern Africa: beIN Sports
  • Sub-Sahara Africa (including South Africa): SuperSport

The live telecast details of the Australian Open for the other countries will be updated as and when we get more information on it.

2019 Australian Open Odds, Tips & Predictions:

We will update the Australian Open tips and predictions on a match-by-match basis during the tournament.

2019 Australian Open Player List:

Women’s Singles

Caroline Wozniacki, Angelique Kerber, Elina Svitolina, Simona Halep, Sloane Stephens, Naomi Osaka, Karolina Pliskova, Ash Barty, Petra Kvitova, Daria Kasatkina, Kiki Bertens, Elise Mertens, Anastasija Sevastova, Julia Goerges, Aryna Sabalenka, Serena Williams

Men’s Singles

Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Kei Nishikori, Alexander Zverev, Rafael Nadal, Kevin Anderson, Fabio Fognini, Dominic Thiem, Marin Cilic, John Isner, Kyle Edmund, Borna Coric, Karen Khachanov, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Daniil Medvedev

Buy Australian Open Tickets

The Australian Open tickets for the 2019 edition can be bought here.