Tennis Article

Nadal, Barty Claim Top Awards

Nadal, Barty Claim Top Awards Photo: TT
Barty won the ITF champion player of the year award

The two players who ended the year number one in the respective male and female world rankings, Rafael Nadal and Ashleigh Barty have been named World Champions of 2019 by the ITF (International Tennis Federation).

Nadal claimed the title for the fourth time after a year which saw him add two more Grand Slams to his tally, winning the French Open for a historic 12th time, and clinching the US Open in Flushing Meadow, the fourth time he has won in New York. He capped his season off by helping Spain win the Davis Cup again in Madrid.

23-year-old Barty became the first Australian since Evonne Goolagong Cawley in 1976 to reach the WTA number one top ranking, five years after she quit the sport altogether to pursue a career in professional cricket. She returned to the circuit in 2016, and, in June, she won the French Open, defeating the Czech player Marketa Vondrousova in the final. In the process she became the first Australian woman to win in Paris since Margaret Court 37 years ago.

Like Nadal, she also helped her country to international success as well, leading Australia to their first Federation Cup final since 1993.

Nadal was also voted the winner of the ATP Stefan Edberg award for sportsmanship by his fellow professionals. It was the second year in a row he had won the honour, and the third time overall.

In other awards, Andy Murray was named Comeback Player of the Year after battling back from a potentially career-ending hip injury to win the Antwerp Open singles title in October, as well as the doubles at the Queens Club with his partner Feliciano Lpez of Spain.

US Open semi-finalist Matteo Berrettini, who finished the year ranked 8 in the world, was named ATP Most Improved Player of the Year, whilst his compatriot, Jannik Sinner, who won the ATP NextGen Finals in Milan, was Newcomer of the Year. Daniil Medvedevs coach Gilles Cervara, who guided his player to nine finals in 2019 was named Coach of the Year.

Kevin Anderson picked up the award for Humanitarian of the Year.

Suneer chowdhary
Sports Pundit staff writer @suneerchowdhary
ICC-accredited cricket journalist, covers Team India through their cricketing journey around the world

What's Your Take?

Reply to Profile image