Hand Ball

A hand ball can happen to any player, except for the goalkeeper within his penalty area, when they tactlessly handled the ball. By definition, the ball can be touched by any of the player’s parts of the arm right to the shoulder. The handball can also lead to having a yellow card if the player prevents his opponent from having the ball. This would result in a direct free kick in favor of the opponent. However, if this incident occurred within the penalty area, then a penalty should be given.

Hand Ball is Not Award-able

Any players who accidentally handled the ball should not be awarded to the player. This would occur when the player attempts to protect himself from serious injuries or by being accidentally hit in the arm caused by another player without any intention to move towards the ball. For instance, if the player’s arm positioned most unnaturally, then the referee should give the player a foul.

The Controversy Behind Hand Ball

This has flacked attention from sports analysts, players, and football enthusiasts about some unclear guidelines for handballs. Fortunately, last June 2019, The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has announced that the goal scored made by accidental hand ball will not be counted as a goal. This was because the majority of the incidents were made deliberately by players and all those who handled the ball incorrectly will be penalized.

How a Penalty Should be Awarded?

Since the new guideline was announced, ball-handling should be carefully be guided by players. The penalty or a free kick will only apply if the ball touches the player’s arm if it made their shadow unnaturally bigger than the player or when the ball is raised above the shoulder. If the player got the ball from his opponent, but then accidentally comes off the ball with their hands, yet managed to score, then they would also take a free-kick.

New Regulations for Non-Penalty

Many conditions are being applied after some drastic changes in ball handling. There would be no penalty if the player fell and eventually touched the ball with their hand, between their body and the ground. The same rule applies when the goalkeeper attempts to clear the ball for his teammate, yet failed.

What's Your Take?

0 comments
Reply to
Loading