Indirect Free Kick

The football term “indirect free kick” refers to the mistake or offense committed by the goalkeeper in his penalty area. These offenses would include touching the ball with his bare hands after he released it from his possession and was touched by another player, and if the ball was deliberately kicked by his teammate that led him to touch the ball. However, an indirect free kick can be given if the goalkeeper prevents the opposing team’s progress.

Direct vs. Indirect Free Kicks

There are two types of free-kicks: direct and indirect. The direct free kick refers to the kick taken as a direct shot by the player, while the indirect free kick refers to the indirect touch of another player to the ball. A direct free kick will be awarded if the players commit a more serious offense, to the point of foul play, while the indirect one will be awarded for lesser offenses.

The Signal of Indirect Free Kick

It’s always the referee who will signal whether an indirect or direct free kick should take place. He would instantly raise his arm vertically above his head for the indirect free kick while the direct free kick signals horizontally. There were also some exceptions for doing these free kicks. Such exceptions include doing the free-kick from anywhere within or towards the goal.

The Guideline for the Free Kick

The ball should on the ground, untouched and it has to be at least 10 yards from the opponent. When the player kicks the ball within the team’s penalty area, then the opponent should be located outside the penalty area. It will be considered as a free kick if the player lifts the ball by his foot, however, he has to take note of the penalty once he’ll do the offside offense.

Scoring From a Free Kick

If the team received an indirect free kick, then the referee has to maintain raising his arm vertically until the player kicked has taken place. The player should let the ball touch by another player because if it directly comes from him, it will not be considered a goal. After seeing the player’s performance, the referee should swiftly decide if the free-kick being done was indirect. If it does, then it will be added to the team’s score.

What's Your Take?

0 comments
Reply to
Loading