CONCACAF or the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football is one of the continental governing body for association football under FIFA. At present, it comes with 41 members from countries that are located within Central and North America and the Caribbean. French Guiana, Suriname and Guyana are also active members.

The confederation’s main task is to organize tournaments for clubs and national teams, including qualifying tournaments for the Men and Women’s World Cup.

CONCACAF Important Facts

CONCACAF was founded in Mexico City in September 18, 1961. This important event happened with the merger of the CCCF or Confederación Centroamericana y del Caribe de Fútbol (Football Confederation of Central America and the Caribbean) and the NAFC or North American Football Confederation. Founding members of the confederation included Suriname, Panama and Nicaragua as well as Netherlands Antilles, Mexico and Honduras. Haiti, Guatemala and El Salvador as well as Cuba and Costa Rica were also founding members along with the United States and Canada.

At present, the confederation is considered as the third-most successful one out of the six confederations of FIFA. This title is mainly made possible by several national member teams that won international tournaments. These include men and women’s teams wining a FIFA Confederations Cup, the Olympics and the World Cup as well as the Algarve Cup.

Governance and Corporate Structure

When it comes to the structure of the confederation, there is a governing body composed of several standing committees, a congress and an executive committee as well as a general secretary. The executive committee is home to eight members, composed of four regular members, one of which should be female, three vice-presidents and one president. The three vice-presidents represent the confederation’s geographic zones. In addition, the executive committee is also tasked to carry out resolutions, regulations and statutes.

In terms of corporate structure, CONCACAF is a registered non-profit organization in Nassau, Bahamas. Its headquarters was located first in Port of Spain before it was moved to George Town and finally in Miami. During the time of Chuck Blazer as general secretary, the confederation moved its address to the Trump Tower in New York City. Lastly, CONCACAF also comes with three satellite offices which are located in Kingston, Guatemala City and Bridgetown.

What's Your Take?

Reply to