Middlesbrough Football Club are an English football club based in the city of Middlesbrough. They are a modest English club but were one of the founding members of the English Premier League in 1992.


Middlesbrough were founded in 1876 as Middlesbrough Cricket players so that they could have some exercise during the off season winter break. The club won the FA Amateur Cup in 1895 and 1898.

Middlesbrough were one of the founding members of the English Premier League in 1992 but they weren’t too successful as a Premier League club and faced relegation in the 1990s. But they bounced back and exhibited a marvelous performance in the 2003-2004 season when they won their first major trophy in history by winning the League Cup under manager Steve McClaren. In 2006 Middlesbrough reached the final of the UEFA Cup final, losing the final to Spanish side Sevilla FC.

Middlesbrough play their home matches at the Riverside Stadium, which has a capacity of 35,100. This is their third home stadium since their formation. They bear the nicknames the Boro and the Smoggies.

Country England England
City Middlesbrough
Founded 1876
Ground Riverside Stadium
Nickname The Boro
Captain Jonathan Howson
Coach Michael Carrick
Website www.mfc.co.uk

The club turned professional on a permanent basis in 1899 and after three seasons were promoted to the first division. Middlesbrough would play in the first division for the next 22 years. Midlesbrough then faced some relgeations and promotions and faced severe financial difficulties in the 1980s.

Middlesbrough foster a massive rivalry with Newcastle United and Sunderland.


  • Division Two / Division One / EFL Championship Winners: 1926–27, 1928–29, 1973–74, 1994–95
  • League Cup Winners: 2003–04
  • FA Cup Runners-up: 1996–97
  • UEFA Cup Runners-up: 2005–06