Sparta Rotterdam

Sport Soccer
Country Netherlands Netherlands
Home town Rotterdam
Founding year 1888
Leagues Eredivisie

Sparta Rotterdam is a Dutch football club based in the city of Rotterdam. They currently feature in the Dutch Eredivisie and are the oldest professional football team in the Netherlands.

The club was originally established in 1887 as Sparat but went boom soon afterwards. Then on April 1,1888 several former members of Sparta founded a cricket club named Spara, Then in the month of July of the same month a football offshoot was created. The cricket club was disbanded in 1890.

Sparta were promoted to the Dutch first division on April 23, 1893 and in 1905 organized the first home match of the Dutch national football team (against Belgium).

Sparta Rotterdam have won six national championships and three KNVB Cups so far in their history.

Sparta Rotterdam plays their home matches at Het Kasteel (The Castle) that can entertain a crowd of 11,026. Sparta moved to the new Het Kastell (stadium) in 1916 and played their first match there on October 14,1916. The stadium underwent renovation works in 1999.

Sparta Rotterdam bear the nickname Kasteelheren (Lords of the Castle).

Some of the club’s major achievements include:-6 National Titles-3 KNVB Cups

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by Subhankar Mondal
  • Share this page:

Latest Articles

Soccer article sidebar

Dutch Eredivisie Season Preview

After an off-season which saw the Netherlands reach the World Cup final, the Dutch Eredivisie resumes this weekend to plenty of anticipation.It all begins on Friday night when champions FC Twente travel to Roda JC, while on Saturday title contenders PSV Eindhoven go to Heerenveen and on Sunday it’ll be the giants of Ajax against Vitesse.It is hard ... Continue reading

Soccer article sidebar

Who's Getting Promoted Around Europe?

At this time of the season, the relegation battles can often be the focus, but we shouldn’t forget to ask, who is coming up to play in the big leagues around Europe next season.EnglandPortsmouth, Burnley and Hull City are confirmed as going down in the Premier League, but on the rise are two clubs who experienced the drop last term, Newcastle and W... Continue reading

  1. Profile image 32x32

    brooklyna ya you tell him gurl

    almost 9 years ago
  2. Profile image 32x32

    Laura J that was very immature and rude. please do not take your anger out on some one elses hard wok. And i thought the article was great!im a big fan of soccer! i played for nine years on a comp. team.

    almost 9 years ago

Soccer article sidebar

Weekend Developments From Europe's Top Leagues

After another weekend of pulsating football action, there’s clearly still a few twists and turns left to come in Europe’s top leagues.English Premier LeaguePosTeamPts1Chelsea772Manchester United763Arsenal714Tottenham645Manchester City62The title race is alive (as predicted on Sports Pundit last week) after Chelsea stumbled 2-1 at Tottenham, while M... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Royston Drenthe midfielder
Suently Alberto defender

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post