Olimpia Asuncion is a Paraguayan sports club who are renowned for their football team. The team is the oldest football team in Paraguay and have won an incredible high number of titles at the national and international level. The club was founded by William Paats, a Dutchman, who along with some locals decided to form the club. Paats chose the club’s name to be Olimpia in honour of the birthplace of the Olympic games.

Till 1906, Paraguay had never held a national championship and after its initiation, it took Olimpia 6 more years to get their hands on the trophy. The team went on to win a number of titles before running into a tough decade that started in 1940. Despite bad results for almost an entire decade, the team managed to win 2 back-to-back titles in 1947 and 1948.

Country Paraguay Paraguay
City Asuncion
Founded 1902

But the tough times were followed by a period of sheer dominance that was triggered off by a change in the club’s presidency. The team also built their stadium, the Estadio Manuel Ferreira, named after the president who brought about the much-needed change. The team went onto win 5 consecutive titles including an unbeaten season in 1959. But if the fans were reveling in those times, then there was more partying to come along in 1975 when another change in the regime brought international success. The team won the Copa Libertadores for the first time, beating giants Boca Juniors over two legs. National titles were not overlooked during the quest for international titles and Olimpia won 6 straight national titles, beating their own record of 5-consecutive wins. The team just went from strength to strength from that point forth and won more major titles at the national and international level.

Olimpia have won the national title a massive 38 times including two undefeated campaigns in 1959 and 1993. In 1992, they won the Torneo Republica in another undefeated campaign. In 35 appearances at the prestigious Copa Libertadores, Olimpia have won 3 titles in 1979, 1990 and 2002. In 1960, 1989 and 1991, the team finished second in the tournament.

Olimpia have also won the 1979 Intercontinental Cup along with 2 runners-up medals in 1990 and 2002. At the Recopa Sudamericana, they have two titles under their belt from 1991 and 2003. In 1990, they won the Supercopa Sudamericana while they won the 1979 edition of the Copa Interamericana. They finished second here in 1990. Olimpia have never managed to win the Copa CONMEBOL or the Supercopa Masters, tournaments where their best finish was a second place in 1992 and in 1994, respectively.

Olimpia hold the distinction of being the only club to reach a Copa Libertadores final in each and every decade since the tournament began in 1960. Along with Sao Paulo, they are the only team to have won the Copa Libertadores and the Supercopa Sudamericana in the same year.

Their list of players includes major international stars like Celso Ayala, Ever Hugo Almeida, Jose Saturnino Cardozo, Roque Santa Cruz, Roberto Paredes, Sergio Orteman and Sergio Goycochea.