Stade Brestois 29, also known popularly as Brest, is a professional football team from France, which plays its football currently in the French Ligue 1.


Founded in 1903, the club was originally known by the name of Armoricaine de Brest, and it wasn’t until the 1950s that the club changed its name to Stade Brestois 29.

In 1988, they played one season of second division football before making their way up, once again, to play first division football for two more seasons. In 1991, the club would get demoted all the way down to the Championat National level where they would stay for another 7 seasons. In 2004, they would move back up to the second division and in 2010, they moved up to the first division after finishing second in the French Ligue 2.

Brest battled relegation for three years in Ligue 1 before being demoted in 2012-13, regaining their top-flight status after six seasons in Ligue 2 with Jean-Marc Furlan leading them to a runner-up finsh. Brest have remained in Ligue 1 since, although they have not finished in the top half once, with a best-placed 11th place in 2021-22 under Michel Der Zakarian.

Country France France
City Brest
Founded 1950
Ground Stade Francis-Le Ble
Nickname Les Pirates
Captain Pierre Lees Melou
Coach Eric Roy

Brest got their first taste of professional football when they hit the Ligue 2 level, in 1970. In 1979, they won their first promotion to the Ligue 1 division, but were relegated the very next season. However, they were back up again in 1981, this time stretching their run to seven seasons before being relegated once again.

The club has seen some fine players pass through its ranks including the likes of Patrick Colleter, David Ginola, Pascal Pierre and Franck Ribery.


  • Ligue 2 Champions: 1980–81
  • Coupe de France Quarter-finalist: (2) 1982–83, 2014–15

Match Schedule