Reading FC

Sport Soccer
Country England England
Home town Reading
Founding year 1871
Leagues Football League Championship
Website readingfc.c...

Reading Football Club is an English football club based in the town of Reading in Berkshire. They currently feature in the Football League Championship.

Reading were formed in 1871 and were soon nicknamed the Biscuitmen but in the 1970s that nickname was changed to the Royals. The club became professional in 1895 and in 1913 went for a tour of Italy, beating both Genoa, AC Milan and the Italian national side.

Reading were admitted to the Third Division of the Football League in 1920 and since then have played majority of the time in the third tier in English football.

In 1998 Reading moved into the Madesjski Stadium, named after chairman John Madejski. In 2001 they became the first football club to register their fans as an official member of the squad. The shirt number “13” is now named “Reading Fans”.

At the end of the 2005-2006 season, Reading gained promotion to the English Premier League. The club’s first ever season in the Premiership in the 2006-2007 was hugely successful as under manager Steve Coppell they finished eight with 55 points, just narrowly missing a UEFA Cup spot.

The 2007-2008 season for Reading in the Premiership though was a tough one as they suffered relegation from the top flight and are now featuring in the Championship for the 2008-2009 season.

Reading play their home matches at the Madejski Stadium which has a capacity of 24,161. Reading had earlier played at the Reading Recreation Ground, the Reading Cricket Ground, Coley Park, Cavesrsham Cricket Ground and Elm Park.

Reading bear the nickname the Royals.

Show more less

  • Improve This Page Latest edit by kristian
  • Share this page:

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post
The town of Reading 2