Portsmouth Football Club is an English football club based in Portsmouth. They currently feature in the English Premier League.

Portsmouth were founded on April 5,1898 and joined the Southern League in 1899. They played their first league matches against Chatham Town in September 1899. After spending several successful seasons in the second and third divisions and made their debut in the First Division in the 1928-1929 season. They won the FA Cup in 1938-1939.

Country England England
City Portsmouth
Founded 1898

Portsmouth then lingered between the second and the third divisions following the 1950s and their fortunes started to improve in the 1990s with the arrival of Jim Smith as the manager at the start of the 1991-1992 season. Milan Mandaric took over the club in December 1998 and started investing heavily in the club.

Harry Redknapp became the Pompey manager in 2002 and from thereon the club’s fortunes took an upbeat. Portsmouth won the first division title the next season and won promotion to the English Premier League and somewhat comfortably established himself in the Premier League.

In January 2006 Alexandre Gaydamak bought the club and hugely invested in the club. Portsmouth reached the FA Cup final in 2008 for the first time since 1939 and defeated Cardiff City in the final at the new Wembley Stadium to win the trophy and qualify for the 2008-2009 UEFA Cup.

Portsmouth play their home matches at Fratton Park which has a capacity of 20,688. Portsmouth bears the nicknames Pompey, the Blues and the Blue Army.

Portsmouth foster massive rivalry with their south coast neighbours Southampton.