Rayo Vallecano de Madrid is a football team from the Spanish capital that plays in La Liga.


Rayo is historically the third best club in Madrid, behind Real and Atletico. It was founded in 1924 and has long been in the shadow of Real and Atletico, including many years yoyoing between divisions since the late 1970s.

Rayo’s best-ever finish in La Liga was eighth in 2012-13.


The team is based at the Campo de Futbol de Vallecas, which has a capacity of 14,700.


  • Segunda Division Winners (1): 2017–18
  • Segunda Division B Winners (4): 1955–56, 1964–65, 1984–85, 2007–08
Country Spain Spain
City Madrid
Founded 1924
Ground Campo de Futbol de Vallecas
Nickname Los Franjirrojos
Coach Andoni Iraola
Website rayovallecano.es

Rayo made the UEFA Cup quarter-finals in 2000-01. More recently, Rayo won promotion to La Liga in 2020-21 and made the Copa del Rey semi-finals the following season.