Doncaster Rovers Football Club is an English based in the town of Doncaster in South Yorkshire. They currently feature in the Football League Championship.

Doncaster Rovers were founded in September 1879 by Albert Jenkins who was a fitter at the town’s Great Northern Railways works. The club soon grew in popularity but from the 1940s started to decline.

In the 1946-1947 season, Doncaster lost a 33 games in the Legaue and resided in utter obscurity from then on, playing in the lower tiers of English football for almost all their history.

In the 1997-1998 season Doncaster Rovers created one more dubious record, as they suffered 34 league defeats and finished bottom of Division Three and sank down into the Football Conference, returning five years later with their then chairman Ken Richardson sent to prison for four years after he was found guilty of conspiracy to commit arson after a fire in June 1995 within the Main Stand at their Belle Bue ground.

Country England England
City Doncaster
Founded 1879

On March 30,1946, Doncaster and Stockport County played the longest ever football match at Edgeley Park. The match was the second leg of a Division Three (North) cup tie and after30 minutes the match was locked at 2-2 and the tie at 4-4. The referee decided that the game would carry on until one team scored and this did not occur at all and after 203 minutes the match was stopped due to bad light. The replay was played at Doncaster later on and the home team won 4-0.

Doncaster Rovers returned to the Football League five years later and won the Division Three title and became the last side to win the title after the Division Three was rechristened to League Two.

Doncaster Rovers though have achieved some glory in recent years. In the 2005-2006 season, they beat both Manchester City and Aston Villa—two Premier League clubs— on their way to the League Cup quarter-final.

Doncaster Rovers play their home matches at the Keepmoat Stadium, which has a capacity of just 15,231. They bear the nicknames The Rovers, Donny, The Mighty Rovers and The Reds.

Some of the club’s title victories include:

  • 1 Nationwide League Division Three
  • 3 Third Division North
  • 2 Fourth Division