AFC Bournemouth is an English football club based in Bournemouth. After decades in the third and fourth divisions, they currently feature in the Premier League.


AFC Bournemouth were established in 1899 out of the hubris of the Boscombe St. John’s Club as Boscombe FC. In 1923 they assumed the name Bournemouth and Boscombe Athletic FC and in 1972 they became AFC Bournemouth.

Country England England
City Bournemouth, Dorset
Founded 1899
Ground Dean Court
Nickname The Cherries
Captain Simon Francis
Coach Eddie Howe
Premier League
Football League One
Football League Championship

In 1986 under the managership of Harry Redknapp, Bournemouth reached the second tier of English club football but were relegated immediately. The club enjoyed their period of success in recent years under Eddie Howe, moving up the divisions to win promotion to the Premier League in 2015-16 where they’ve remained ever since.

AFC Bournemouth play their home matches at Dean Court that can accommodate 9,600 spectators. They bear the nickname ‘The Cherries’.


  • Second Division/Championship Champions (1): 2014–15
  • Third Division South/Third Division/League One Champions (1): 1986–87
  • Football League Trophy Winners (1): 1983–84

Match Schedule


Team Roster

Name Position
Joe Bennett England defender
Callum Buckley England defender
Jaidon Anthony England forward
Marius Adamonis Lithuania goalkeeper
Phillip Billing Denmark midfielder
Philip Billing Denmark midfielder
David Brooks Wales midfielder
Ryan Christie Scotland midfielder
Ryan Christie Scotland midfielder
Lewis Cook England midfielder