Swansea City AFC is a Welsh football club based in the city of Swansea. They currently feature in the English Championship.


Swansea City were founded in 1913 as Swansea Town. Their most successful years have been since the 1980s when under their then player-manager John Toshack, they were promoted to the old First Division in 1981 and won three consecutive Welsh Cups and also made an appearance in the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

Swansea won the Capital One Cup at Wembley Stadium in 2013, beating Bradford City 5-0 in the final, less than two years after their promotion to the Premier League.


  • English third tier (currently Football League One) Winners (3): 1924–25, 1948–49, 2007–08
  • English fourth tier (currently Football League Two) Winners (1): 1999–2000
  • Welsh Football League – Welsh Top Division (Swansea Town/City Reserves) Winners (12): 1912–13, 1924–25, 1925–26, 1933–34, 1934–35, 1935–36, 1950–51, 1961–62, 1962–63, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1975–76
  • Football League Cup Winners (1): 2012–13
  • Football League Trophy Winners (2): 1993–94, 2005–06
  • Welsh Cup Winners (10): 1912–13, 1931–32, 1949–50, 1960–61, 1965–66, 1980–81, 1981–82, 1982–83, 1988–89, 1990–91
Country United Kingdom United Kingdom
City Swansea
Founded 1912
Ground Liberty Stadium
Nickname The Swans
Captain Matt Grimes
Coach Russell Martin
Website swanseacity.net

Swansea City play their home matches at the Liberty Stadium which can entertain a crowd of 20,532. They have been playing at this stadium since 2005 and share the stadium with the Ospreys rugby team. The club bears the nicknames The Swans and The Jacks.