Huddersfield Town Football Club is an English football club formed in 1908 and based in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire. The team plays in the English Championship.


Huddersfield were admitted to the Football League in 1910 and were particularly successful in the 1920s, after they were promoted from the Second Division in 1919-20. Town won the FA Cup in 1922 and were league champions in three straight seasons under Herbert Chapman.

John Smith’s Stadium, with a capacity of 24,121, is the name of the home arena.


  • First Division (first tier) Champions: 1923–24, 1924–25, 1925–26
  • Second Division / Championship (second tier) Champions: 1969–70
  • Fourth Division / Division Three (fourth tier) Champions: 1979–80
  • FA Cup Winners: 1921–22
  • FA Cup Runners-up: 1919–20, 1927–28, 1929–30, 1937–38
Country England England
City Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Founded 1908
Ground John Smith's Stadium
Nickname The Terriers
Captain Jonathan Hogg
Coach Neil Warnock

In more recent times, Huddersfield spent two seasons in the Premier League from 2017 to 2019 during a successful period under German boss David Wagner.