FC Spartak Moscow

Sport Soccer
Country Russian Federation Russian Federation
Home town Moscow
Founding year 1922
Leagues Russian Premier League

FC Spartak Moscow is a Russian football club based in the city of Moscow. They currently feature in the Russian Premier League and one of the most successful football clubs in Russia.

FC Spartak Moscow were founded in 1921 as the Moscow Sport Circle and were later renamed as Krasnaya Presnya. The club soon developed as an important club in Moscow and started competiting with local rivals Dynamo Moscow.

Soon the club was rechristened as Spartak Moscow and became part of the Spartak Sports Society on April 19,1935. They won the second Soviet Top League in 1936.

They then started to dominate proceedings in the Soviet Top League along with Dynamo Moscow and won several Top League titles and Cups, going onto establish themselves as a top force both in the USSR and in Europe.

Spartak Moscow win the last USSR Championship in 1989 and dominating in Russia after the collapse of the Soviet Regime. Between 1992 and 2001 Spartak had won all but one Russian Premier League title and have been featuring in the UEFA Champions League on a regular basis. So far Sparta have won 9 of the 16 Russian Premier League titles.

FC Spartak Moscow play their home matches at the Luzhniki Stadium that can host 84,754 spectators. They bear the nicknames Meat and Red-Whites. Sometimes they are also called the Pigs, which the supporters find offensive for understandable reasons.

Some of the achievements of the club are:-11 Champion of the USSR titles-9 Champion of Russia titles-10 USSR Cup

Show more less

Latest Articles

European Football Round-Up - Spurs Hold Juventus, Liverpool Thrash Porto

European Football Round-Up - Spurs Hold Juventus, Liverpool Thrash Porto

This week saw the first four ties in the Champions League round of 16 played, whilst the last 32 teams in the Europa League played their first leg matches Continue reading

Champions League Match-Day 1 - Chelsea Hammer Six, Barcelona, Real Madrid Win

Champions League Match-Day 1 - Chelsea Hammer Six, Barcelona, Real Madrid Win

The matchday 1 of the UEFA Champions League 2017/18 was full of jaw-dropping goals with sensational victories Continue reading

Celtic Boss Says Don't Underestimate Us

Celtic Boss Says Don't Underestimate Us

Celtic boss Neil Lennon acknowledges their UEFA Champions League last 16 opponents Juventus are full of quality but says his side shouldn’t be underestimated.The Scottish champions qualified through a difficult group alongside Barcelona, beating off Benfica and Spartak Moscow for second place and now take on the Italian champions at home on Tuesday... Continue reading

'Messi Never Fails To Surprise'

'Messi Never Fails To Surprise'

Barcelona boss Tito Vilanova says Lionel Messi never fails to surprise after his double sent them into the UEFA Champions League last 16 and moved him closer to Gerd Muller’s goalscoring record.Barca defeated Russian outfit Spartak Moscow 3-0 on Tuesday, with Messi netting twice in the first half after Dani Alves had put them ahead on 16 minutes.Th... Continue reading

Team Roster

Name Position
Andrey Eshchenko defender
Ilya Kutepov defender
Artem Dzyuba forward
Amadou Dia Ndiaye forward
Ezequiel Ponce forward
Artem Rebrov goalkeeper
Jano Ananidze midfielder
Alberto Facundo Costa midfielder
André Schürrle midfielder
Aleksandr Tashaev midfielder
Roman Zobnin midfielder

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post