Paris Saint-Germain FC

Country France France
Home town Paris
Founded 1970
Ligue 1
UEFA Champions League

Paris Saint-Germain Football Club, better known simply as PSG, is a French football club based in the city of Paris. PSG current feature in the French Ligue 1 and are recognized as one of the heavyweights of French football. PSG have alays played in the French top flight.

The club was founded in 1904 with the name “Stade Saint Germain” and the current name appeared in August 1970 after Paris FC and Stade Saint-Germain were merged. They played in the second division in France in the 1970-1971 season and were promoted to the first division after winning the second division title.

PSG have played in the French first division ever since. They won their first major title in 1982 when they won the Coipe de France and won the Ligue 1 championship in 1986. They would win the league title again in 1994 and won their first and so far only European trophy when they emerged victorious in the 1996 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

In recent years though PSG have often stuttered and just managed to escape relegation at the end of the 2007-2008 season when they could finish only 16th in the table.

Paris Saint-German play their home matches at the Parc des Princes in Paris, a stadium that can hold 46,480 people. They bear the nickname PSG.


  • Ligue 1 Championnat de France
  • Champions : 1986, 1994
  • Coupe de France
  • Winners : 1982, 1983, 1993, 1995, 1998, 2004, 2006
  • Coupe de la Ligue
  • Winners : 1995, 1998, 2008
  • UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup
  • Winners : 1996
  • UEFA Intertoto Cup
  • Winners : 2001
  • Trophée des Champions
  • Winners : 1995, 1998
  • Ligue 2
  • Champions : 1971

Latest Forum Posts

Topic Replies Last Post