Blackpool Football Club is an English football club based in Blackpool in Lancashire. They currently feature in the English League Championship.


Country England England
City Blackpool
Founded 1887
Ground Bloomfield Road
Nickname The Seasiders, The Tangerines
Coach Stephen Dobbie

Blackpool were formed on July 26,1887 and were the founding members of the Lancashire League at the end of the 1888-1889 season and joined the Football League in 1896 and made their Football League debut against Lincoln City on September 5, 1896 in the second division.

Blackpool were promoted to the first division at the end of the 1928-1929 season but could last only three seasons in the English top flight.

After World War II however Blackpool became a strong force in English football and reached the FA Cup three times, winning the trophy in 1953. In the 1955-1956 season, Blackpool finished runners-up to Manchester United in the league but were relegated at the end of the 1966-1967 season.

In the 1982-1983 season Blackpool finished four places from the bottom of the Football League. But twelve years fast forward and they were featuring in England’s top flight. But unfortunately for Blackpool they could not sustain their top flight status and were relegated before long.

Blackpool play their home matches at Bloomfield Road, which can host 16,616 spectators. They have been playing at the stadium since 1899.

Blackpool bear the nicknames ‘Pool, the Seasiders and the Tangerines. They bear a fierce rivalry with Preston North End and feature in the West Lancashire Derby (or the M55 derby) with them.


  • Football League Second Division / Football League Championship Champions: 1929–30
  • FA Cup Winners: 1952–53