Burnley Football Club is an English football club based in the city of Burnley in Lancashire. They currently feature in the English Championship. They won been the champions of the English first division on two occasions and have won the FA Cup once.


Burnley were established in 1882 when Burnley Rovers Football Club decided to become a football club. They were one of the original 12 founders of the Football League in 1888 but were relegated to the Second Division in the 1896-1897 season. They were promoted soon but slipped down again.

Burnley were promoted to the first division in the 1912-1913 season and reached the FA Cup semi-final that same year. Next year Burnley won their first major honour when they defeated Liverpool in the FA Cup and received the trophy from King George V.

But relegation soon embraced Burnley and in the 1979-1980 they were even relegated to the Third Division. So much so that in the mid 1980s Burnley were even in serious danger of losing their professional as the Conference came agonizingly close to their nose but somehow the club escaped by the skin of its teeth.

Country England England
City Burnley, Lancashire
Founded 1882
Ground Turf Moor
Nickname The Clarets
Captain Jack Cork
Coach Craig Bellamy
Website burnleyfootballclub.com

Burnley then finished second to West Bromwich Albion in the first division title race in the 1919-1920 season and the very next season won the League, their first league triumph in history. But Burnley started struggling soon after and recovered only after the World War II had ended. They won the league championship for the second time in their history in the 1959-1960 season and reached the 1966-1967 Fairs Cup quarter-finals.

But Burnley managed to claw themselves out of those black days and by the 1990s had re-established themselves but only in the lower tiers of English football. Under Sean Dyche more recently, Burnley established themselves as a top flight regular, following promotion to the Premier League in 2015-16.

Burnley suffered relegation in 2021-22, but immediately regained their top flight status under ex-Man City defender Vincent Kompany, but were again relegated in 2023-24.

Burnley play their home matches at Turf Moor, which can entertain a crowd of 21,944. They have been playing at this ground since 1882. Burnley bear the nickname The Clarets.


  • First Division/Premier League Champions (2): 1920–21, 1959–60
  • Second Division/Championship Champions (4): 1897–98, 1972–73, 2015–16, 2022-23
  • Third Division/Second Division/League Two Champions (1): 1981–82
  • Fourth Division/League Two Champions (1): 1991-92
  • FA Cup Winners (1): 1913–14
  • FA Charity Shield Winners (2): 1960 (shared), 1973